Wu Ch'ang-suo (original name Chun, style name Ch'ang-shih, and sobriquets Fou-lu, K’u-t'ieh, P'o-ho, Lao-fou, and Ta-lung) was a native of An-chi, Chekiang. At the age of 21, he passed a civil service examination and by the time he was 52 years-old he was recommended to serve in An-tung County (modern Lien-shui), retiring not long thereafter. At the age of 28, he traveled to Soochow and was able to view bronzes, calligraphy, and paintings at the residences of such prominent figures as P'an Po-ying (Tsu-yin), Wu P'ing-chao (Yun), and Wu Ta-cheng. He studied the arts from Yang Chien-shan (Hsien), and he specialized in researching poetry, calligraphy, and seal carving. He was most noted for his calligraphy in the style of the Stone Drum inscriptions. He combined several styles to form his own, which was exceptionally powerful and unique.
The scroll here forms the central panel of calligraphy and was composed in running script. According to Wu's inscription, this work was done in 1922 at the age of 76.